Sunday, June 23, 2024

Mexico seeks Oscar nomination for Prayers For the Stolen as best foreign film

Mexico’s shot at glory at next year’s Academy Awards rests on the shoulders of a film that tells a story about cartel violence in Guerrero.

Tatiana Huezo’s Prayers For The Stolen (Noche de Fuego in Spanish) was selected by the Mexican Academy of Arts and Cinematographic Science as the candidate for nomination in the best foreign film category.

If chosen as a nominee, it would be the 10th Mexican film to compete for the prize: in 2019, Alfonso Cuarón’s Roma became the first Mexican film to win the award.

Prayers For The Stolen tells the story of three girls in the Guerrero Sierra who live amid a backdrop of gunshots and narcos while they battle to maintain their innocence.

The 110-minute film has already taken honors: it won the best film award in the Latin Horizons section of the San Sebastián Film Festival in Spain and secured the special mention in the un certain regard (from another angle) category at the Cannes Film Festival, where 20 films with unusual styles and non-traditional stories are presented.

Director Tatiana Huezo
Director Tatiana Huezo’s film has already been recognized this year at Spain’s San Sebastián Film Festival and at the Cannes Film Festival. Pimienta Films

Huezo, who is of Salvadoran and Mexican heritage, dedicated her Cannes recognition to Latin American women who are “teaching [their daughters] that they can be free.”

Mayra Batalla, Norma Pablo and Alejandra Camacho star in the film.

Prayers For The Stolen was chosen by the Mexican film academy’s selection committee ahead of Arturo Ripstein’s Devil Between The Legs (El Diablo Entre Las Piernas), Samuel Kishi’s The Wolves (Los Lobos), Fernanda Valadez’s Identifying Features (Sin Señas Particulares), Alonso Ruizpalacios’ Netflix original film A Cop Movie (Una Película De Policías) and Yulene Olaizola’s Traffic Jungle (Selva Trágica).

The Mexican film academy chose The Wolves to represent Mexico in Spain at next year’s Goya Awards in the Ibero-American film category.

The 94th edition of the Oscars will take place on March 27. The 36th Goya Awards will be broadcast from Valencia on February 12.

Prayers For The Stolen (2021) | Trailer | Tatiana Huezo

With reports from Forbes México 

Have something to say? Paid Subscribers get all access to make & read comments.
U.S. Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen announces the new sanctions against La Nueva Familia Michoacana, speaking at a podium

US announces new sanctions targeting members of La Nueva Familia Michoacana

U.S. officials said the sanctions target leaders, lieutenants and an assassin working for the criminal organization La Nueva Familia Michoacana.
A fisherman points out the bubbling "water eye" in the ocean off Cozumel Island, with a cruise ship and another fishing boat in the background.

Churning ‘water eye’ appears off coast of Cozumel Island in Quintana Roo

The phenomenon is a result of the Yucatán Peninsula's unusual geology.
A person pours water on his face under blazing sun

Heat-related death toll climbs to 155, more than doubling in 3 weeks

Tabasco and Veracruz account for nearly half of all heat-related fatalities in the country so far this year.